PDA

View Full Version : For the heck of it: Metallica and Lou Reed's "Lulu" thoughts...

CayugaPosse
11-01-2011, 05:10 PM
I want to be upfront about something. I'm not a thrash metal snob. I know I worked as a heavy metal critic and I write reviews still on here just for shits and giggles, but I should clarify that that doesn't make me a snob. It makes me a fan. When I say snob I mean the kind of person who takes any alteration from what they want and says it's terrible and the band selling out.

I like Metallica's "S&M", I thought the concept was a bit weird, but it was executed well, and like I said, I don't consider it selling out to see Metallica playing with an orchestra. I don't see why anyone would. It's about WHAT they're playing when they're doing it, and they were playing Metallica music.

And so, we come to "Lulu".

Again, I don't think it's Metallica "selling out" or going soft or whatever.

I still fucking hate it though. I hate it so much that words really can't do justice to it.

It's such a half-assed piece of shit I can't believe that the guys that I thought had it figured out to a point("Death Magnetic"), managed to release this garbage.

There should be a law passed that prevents any member of Metallica entering a recording studio again as long as they live without Rick Rubin standing with them in that room, overseeing anything they do or touch.

Here's the real problem with this. It sounds like an entire CD of useless fan mashups. There is genuinely no melody, song structure or anything. This is Metallica taking a bunch of B-level riffs that they had laying around, and having Lou Reed speak overtop of them.

It's available streaming here for those that don't know:

http://www.loureedmetallica.com/listen-to-lulu.php